2013 Graceful Envelope Contest Winners

by Gini OgleThe Graceful Envelope Contest, sponsored by the National Association of Letter Carriers and the Washington Calligraphers Guild, congratulates this year's winning artists. Judges selected nine Winners (with one designated Best in Show) and gave another 10 the distinction Honorable Mention in the contest’s adult division. Judges also selected student winners in three grade divisions.

The 2013 theme, "A World of Change," challenged artists to ponder a change from the past or look into the future to the kind of change they would like to see in the world. Winners were chosen based on artistic hand lettering, creative interpretation of the theme and effective use of color and design, including incorporation of postage stamp(s).

The 19th annual Graceful Envelope Contest was juried by professional calligraphers Christine Tischer and Gilda Penn and National Association of Letter Carriers graphic designer Michael Shea.

The contest was created in 1995 by the Smithsonian Institution's National Postal Museum, which administered it until delegating responsibility to the Washington Calligraphers Guild in 2001 (joined in 2003 by the National Association of Letter Carriers). In addition to promoting the art of calligraphy, the Graceful Envelope Contest celebrates the role of letters in binding people together and serves as a reminder that the people who deliver the mail are career government employees who take pride in their work and care about the communities they serve.

The 2013 adult division Winner and Honorable Mention envelopes will be on display in the lobby of the National Association of Letter Carriers headquarters building, 100 Indiana Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20001 beginning June 7, 2013 for a year. Open to the public free of charge Monday through Friday (except holidays), 8-6 Eastern time, the building is located near Union Station and the U.S. Capitol, at the intersection of First and C Streets NW. View map. If you need further information about visiting the exhibit, call 202-662-2851 or email.

Past winners:


2013 Call for Entries

Available for purchase:
Spring 2009 Scripsit featuring full-color reproductions of 64 selected envelopes from the 2006, 2007 and 2008 Graceful Envelope contests.
List of artists represented


Fall 2005 Scripsit featuring full-color reproductions of 65 selected envelopes from the 2003, 2004 and 2005 Graceful Envelope contests.
List of artists represented


Dec. 2002 Scripsit featuring full-color reproductions of 60 of the winning envelopes from 1995 through 2002.
List of artists represented

Congratulations to the following winners
of the 2013 Graceful Envelope Contest! Click on links to view the envelopes on Flickr.


Adult Winners:


Cheryl Tefft -- Maryland Heights, MO
Kathy Barker -- Bellevue, WA
Toi Clawson -- Fairport, NY
Lynda Demke -- Moorhead, MN
Carol DuBosch -- Portland, OR
Julie Gray -- Denver, NC
Jeri Hobart -- Iowa City, IA
Hannah C. Holder -- Knoxville, TN
Phyllis Macaluso -- Ancaster, ON, Canada

Adult Honorable Mentions:


P.L. Brooks -- Weston, FL
Charity Goodwin -- Stanberry, MO
Junko Ishikawa -- Saitama-ken, Japan
Glenn Leung -- Philadelphia, PA
Betty Locke -- Duncan, BC, Canada
Carol Meetze-Moates -- Julian, NC
Rebecca Sinnen -- Milwaukee, WI
Yumie Tanaka -- Tokyo, Japan
Mary F. Vivo -- Hartford, CT
Florence Vogel -- Sandusky, MI

Student Winners:


Lauren Black -- Valley Village, CA
Ayesha Hamid Dhopavkar -- Manama, Kingdom of Bahrain
Chanie Frankel -- Tarzana, CA
Chani Kahnrose -- Valley Village, CA
Taylor Khaleel -- Los Angeles, CA
Hilla Levi -- Tarzana, CA
Zoey Mizrahi -- Tarzana, CA
Miriam Neissany -- Los Angeles, CA
Estee Packer -- Valley Village, CA
Shoshana Shapiro -- Valley Village, CA
Emily Shiau -- Ann Arbor, MI
Gabrielle Sipen -- Tarzana, CA
Molly Socher -- Agoura Hills, CA
Grace Sun -- Escondido, CA
Miriam Yifrach -- Valley Village, CA


Hannah Bi -- Bellevue, WA
Cecilia Goesling -- Bellevue, WA
Augie Guo -- Ann Arbor, MI
Jesse Hainze -- Bellevue, WA
Annie Harris -- Bellevue, WA
Eva Lewis -- Buena Vista, CO
Marissa Mincy -- Bellevue, WA
Mary May Moliter -- Buena Vista, CO
Sun K. Moon -- Bellevue, WA
Gabrielle Novak -- St. Louis, MO
Valerie Romine -- St. Louis, MO
Sydney Roser -- Bellevue, WA
John Vincent B. Tomimbang -- Manila, Philippines
Elyse Uding -- St. Louis, MO
Jessica Zhang -- Ann Arbor, MI


Vaibhav Bathula -- Torrance, CA
Pranav Bathula -- Torrance, CA
Isaac Bearss -- Buena Vista, CO
Noah Bearss -- Buena Vista, CO
Katelyn Bellissimo -- Hoboken, NJ
Emma Davenport -- Buena Vista, CO
Mary Louise Davenport -- Buena Vista, CO
Bryan Gerwel -- St. Louis, MO
Kate Hannon -- Palatine, IL
Sophia Henson -- St. Louis, MO
Stedman Lewis -- Buena Vista, CO
Daniel McKinnis -- St. Louis, MO
Naomi Ng -- Hoboken, NJ
Delaney Rice -- Hoboken, NJ
Gillian Risch -- St. Louis, MO
Nyla Sanchez -- Hoboken, NJ
Delaney Toennies -- St. Louis, MO
Jade Tulk -- Hoboken, NJ
Ella Zhang -- Ann Arbor, MI

Graceful Envelope logo by Gini Ogle

 ~  Washington Calligraphers Guild home page  ~  About the Guild  ~  
Meetings, Classes & Workshops  ~ 
Scripsit, the WCG journal
 ~ How to become a member  ~ 
Freelance calligraphers in the DC area
 ~ Links to related websites  ~ 
 ~ Zapf fund to further calligraphy education ~