2011 Graceful Envelope Contest Winners

View the 2011 Adult Division Winners
View the 2011 Adult Division Honorable Mentions
View the 2011 Junior Division Winners (grades 6-12)
View the 2011 Children's Division Winners (grades 1-5)

by Gini OgleThe Graceful Envelope Contest, sponsored by the National Association of Letter Carriers and administered by the Washington Calligraphers Guild, congratulates this year's winning artists. Out of more than 140 entries received from around the world, 10 were selected as "Winners" (with one judged "Best in Show") and 20 were given the distinction "Honorable Mention" in the contest's adult division. The judges also selected student winners from more than 330 entries in the junior and children's divisions.

This year's theme, TIME FLIES, was inspired by the 35th anniversary of the Washington Calligraphers Guild. Entrants were urged to design an envelope that "explores good times, quality time, the times of our lives, time travel, or any other idea you have time to develop" and address it artistically. A trio of judges looked for skill in lettering, effective use of color and design, and creative interpretation of the theme.

The 2011 contest was juried by: professional calligrapher Peggy Schiefelbein, whose clients include the National Gallery of Art, Freer and Sackler Galleries of the Smithsonian and the Folger Shakespeare Library; Shane Perry, calligraphy faculty member at the Smithsonian Institution and 2006 Graceful Envelope Contest best-in-show winner; and Alfredo Ratinoff, an internationally acclaimed ceramicist and Smithsonian faculty member.

The contest was created in 1995 by the Smithsonian Institution's National Postal Museum, which administered it until delegating responsibility to the Washington Calligraphers Guild in 2001. Beginning in 2003, the National Association of Letter Carriers agreed to partner with the Washington Calligraphers Guild to sponsor the contest. In addition to promoting the art of calligraphy, the Graceful Envelope Contest celebrates the role of letters in binding people together and serves as a reminder that the people who deliver the mail are career government employees who take pride in their work and care about the communities they serve.

The 2011 adult division winner and honorable mention envelopes will be on display in the lobby of the National Association of Letter Carriers headquarters building, 100 Indiana Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20001 beginning Sept 1, 2011 for a year. Open to the public free of charge Monday through Friday (except holidays), 8-6 Eastern time, the building is located near Union Station and the U.S. Capitol, at the intersection of First and C Streets NW. View map. If you need further information about visiting the exhibit, call 202-662-2851 or email.

Past winners:



2011 Call for Entries

Available for purchase:
Spring 2009 Scripsit featuring full-color reproductions of 64 selected envelopes from the 2006, 2007 and 2008 Graceful Envelope contests.
List of artists represented


Available for purchase:
Fall 2005 Scripsit featuring full-color reproductions of 65 selected envelopes from the 2003, 2004 and 2005 Graceful Envelope contests.
List of artists represented


Dec. 2002 Scripsit featuring full-color reproductions of 60 of the winning envelopes from 1995 through 2002.
List of artists represented

Congratulations to the following winners of the 2011 Graceful Envelope Contest:


Best in Show:
Margaret Kubisch -- Nuriootpa, South Australia


Rhonda Cavanagh -- Hilton, NY
Jane Ewing -- Grand Haven, MI
Jo Forsyth -- Shoreline, WA
Lorrie Frear -- Canandaigua, NY
Linae Frei -- Scottsdale, AZ
Julie Gray -- Sandia Park, NM
Jeri Hobart -- Iowa City, IA
Louise Jolly -- La Chapelle-Rablais, France
Beverly Womack -- Placentia, CA

Honorable Mentions:
Angelamae Abbene -- Marcy, NY
Rosalee Anderson -- Frankfort, KY
Dick Borgstrom -- Fountain Hills, AZ
Tina Cronkhite -- Grand Rapids, MI
Brenda Cropper -- Conroe, TX
Nan Deluca -- New York, NY
Gloria Eckart -- Plantation, FL
Joan Gooderham -- St. Catharines, ON, Canada
Kath Harney -- Bothell, WA
Julie Kechele -- Plainwell, MI
Gerry Jackson Kerdok -- Hudson, MA
Sue Kinsey -- Tulsa, OK
Donna S. Koger -- Martinsville, VA
Beate Lommer -- Griesbach, Germany
Margi Long -- Curtis, WA
Carol Moates -- Julian, NC
Sally Penley -- Olympia, WA
Yumie Tanaka -- Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Cynthia Towle -- Brookfield, NH
Myrlin von Glahn -- Rocky River, OH

Student Winners:

Junior Division (Grades 6-12):

Bracha Adler -- N. Hollywood, CA
Corrine Bar‑on -- Tarzana, CA
Ilana Drubach -- Valley Village, CA
Dalia Frend -- N. Hollywood, CA
Devorah Tova Friedman -- N. Hollywood, CA
Stacy Galaviz -- San Bernardino, CA
Patricio Gatica -- San Bernardino, CA
M. Thomas Glenchur -- West Chester, OH
Gabby Glik -- Woodland Hills, CA
Cinthia Gomez -- San Bernardino, CA
Shlomit Harel -- Sherman Oaks, CA
Cristina Morales -- San Bernardino, CA
Sandra Saber -- Valley Village, CA
Hilla Sage -- Sherman Oaks, CA
Grace Sun -- Escondido, CA
Ilana Yarmak -- Northridge, CA
Elisa Younessi -- Tarzana, CA
Maryam Zaffer -- Lombard, IL

Children's Division (Grades 1-5):

Dominic Baker -- St. Louis, MO
Autumn Bracey -- Hendersonville, TN
Olivia Bunton -- St. Louis, MO
Lyndsey Cooke -- St. Louis, MO
Katie Cota -- San Diego, CA
Margeaux Gould -- Hoboken, NJ
Lauren Graham -- Sanford, FL
Bernadette Hensley -- Albuquerque, NM
Clare Henson -- St. Louis, MO
Bucky Kaiser -- Hoboken, NJ
Avery Macke -- St. Louis, MO
Lilly Murphy -- Hoboken, NJ
Jennifer Mynard -- Hoboken, NJ
Kara Nienhaus -- St. Louis, MO
Mikayla Reilly -- Hoboken, NJ
Mike Staely -- St. Louis, MO

Graceful Envelope logo by Gini Ogle

 ~  Washington Calligraphers Guild home page  ~  About the Guild  ~  
Meetings, Classes & Workshops  ~ 
Scripsit, the WCG journal
 ~ How to become a member  ~ 
Freelance calligraphers in the DC area
 ~ Links to related websites  ~ 
 ~ Zapf fund to further calligraphy education ~