2003 Graceful Envelope Contest Winners

by Gini OgleJudges selected 38 winners from nearly 200 entries in the 9th annual Graceful Envelope Contest, sponsored this year by the National Association of Letter Carriers and administered by the Washington Calligraphers Guild.

This year's theme was “The Written Word,” a tribute to the essential role of written communication, including cards and letters (and the mail carriers who deliver them), books and manuscripts (and the tools that produce them), and alphabets and symbols (and the process of learning them). Entrants were encouraged to incorporate the theme in a creative and artistic way while using hand-executed lettering to address the envelope.

In addition to promoting the art of calligraphy, the Graceful Envelope Contest celebrates the role of letters in binding people together and serves as a reminder that the people who deliver the mail are career government employees who take pride in their work and care about the communities they serve.

The entries were judged by three professionals in the graphic, design and lettering fields: Rose Folsom, Editor of Letter Arts Review; Ann Pope, teacher and past faculty member of Letterforum, International Calligraphy Conference; and Lorraine Swerdloff, Director of Communications of the National Association of Letter Carriers.

~ View the 2003 winning Graceful Envelopes ~

Theme: The Written Word
Thumbnails of winning entries are grouped alphabetically by artist's last name:

Winners, A-I
Winners, K-P
Winners, S-Z

Past winners:


2002       2001

Available for purchase:
Dec. 2002 Scripsit featuring full-color reproductions of 60 of the winning envelopes from 1995 through 2002

About the contest, including contest rules

May 2, 2001 article by Newhouse News Service about the Graceful Envelope Contest

Congratulations to the following winners
of the 2003 Graceful Envelope Contest:

Glorie Austern, Secaucus, NJ
*Elaine Beermann, Enumclaw, WA
Barbara Berger, Indianapolis, IN
Sheryl Bracey, Hendersonville, TN
Adria Anne Zimmer DeCicco, Arvada, CO
*Carol DuBosch, Portland, OR
Gloria Eckart, Plantation, FL
Lorrie Frear, Canadaigua, NY
Brenda J. Gallagher, Niwot, CO
Julie Gray, Asheville, NC
Marilyn Gray, Coral Springs, FL
Yogi H. Grunwald, Calgary, Canada
Joan Inderhees, Kent, OH
Janet Kasper, Itasca, IL
Clare C. Kehoe, Tampa, FL
Gerry Jackson Kerdok, Hudson, MA
Gayle Klawitter, Missoula, MT
*Ruth Korch, Santa Cruz, CA
Jennifer Stuart Lesch, Cleveland, OH
Jill Lichty, Mechanicsburg, PA
Linda Lundy, Ellensburg, WA
Virginia Meltzer, Missoula, MT
Kay McWhorter, Decatur, AL
*Jeanette L. Mustacich, Santa Barbara, CA
Jill Norvell, Reston, VA
Andrea Perkins, Salem, OR
Carol Sabo, Sheffield Lake, OH
Donna Sabolovic, Richardson, TX
Shelly Sansaver, Ellensburg, WA
Jan Saunders, Carmel, CA
*Peggy Shields Schiefelbein, Washington, DC
*Cynthia Schubert, Portland, OR
Rose Marie Starke, Farmington Hills, MI
*Delphine Vasquez, Davenport, IA
Myrlin von Glahn, Bay Village, OH
Gloria S. Waugh, Saginaw, MI
Katherine Way, Preston, CT
Jean Wilson, Des Moines, IA

*Best in show

Children's Division winner:
Mamele Peterson, Ewa Beach, HI


Artwork on this page by Gini Ogle.

 ~  Washington Calligraphers Guild home page  ~  About the Guild  ~  
Meetings, Classes & Workshops  ~  Scripsit, the WCG journal ~ 
 ~ How to become a member  ~  Freelance calligraphers in the DC area ~ 
 ~ Links to related websites  ~  Zapf fund to further calligraphy education ~